in Music

Leighton Meester’s “Heartstrings” Available on October 28th

Five years ago, Leighton Meester had a pop single out named “Somebody to Love” with Robin Thicke and was featured on a Cobra Starship track called “Good Girls Go Bad.” Since then, along with wrapping up Gossip Girl, appearing on Broadway in Of Mice and Men with James Franco and Chris O’Dowd, and getting married to Adam Brody a.k.a. The O.C.‘s Seth Cohen, Meester has completely changed up her sound.

Now, she’s concentrating a lot more on vocals and her upcoming debut album Heartstrings is described as the “perfect mix between Lana Del Rey and Paolo Nutini.”

Recently, Meester has been working with an indie band called Check in the Dark so it comes as no surprise that she’s become a lot more folksy-sounding. Billboard compared the album’s style to “ethereal singer-songwriters such as Tori Amos and Joni Mitchell.”

Meester never took off as a pop star, but we’re looking forward to what a more mature-sounding Meester on Heartstrings has to offer.


  1. Heartstrings
  2. Run Away
  3. Good for One Thing
  4. Sweet
  5. On My Side
  6. L.A.
  7. Dreaming
  8. Blue Afternoon
  9. Entitled

You can pre-order Heartstrings on iTunes or Amazon right now, or wait until it’s official release date on October 28, 2014.